There are 3 types of areas:
1. Icefield--> You will begin the game here.
2. Tundra--> You may enter this area after completing the [Banner Raised High] milestone. This area contains Alliance Steel and Iron.
3. Fertile Land--> You may enter this region after completing the [Grand Conquest] milestone for higher-level resources.

The system only allows the Alliance HQ to be set up on Tundra and Icefield, but not Fertile Land