Each alliance can only sign up for 1 medium stronghold and 1 large stronghold in a phase. The system will automatically help an alliance sign up for the stronghold it occupied in the previous phase. The two rules do not conflict.
If it is the first phase of the season, alliances will not be automatically signed up for the strongholds they occupied in the last phase of the previous season.